I suppose an explanation is in order around here.  Why am I really here?  What am I doing?  What do I hope to accomplish here?

I want to be someone.  I want to go places.  I want to make a name for myself.  It’s really as simple as that.  There are dreams and ambitions that I have.  A lot of people don’t understand them.  Heck, half the time I don’t understand them.

But they’re present and they’re important to me.

These crazy fantasies that run around in my head, banging things around and making general nuisances of themselves, need to be fed and freed.  I can’t let them sit there and dink around until my brain turns to mush.  No, sir (or ma’am).  It’s not going to happen.  And so I write.

Until very recently, I was going to school in hopes of being a dentist in the very distant future.  Every day, I woke up dreading going to school.  I failed organic chemistry 2.  It was the first time I had ever failed a class.  I know this sounds bad, but I had no desire to try again.  I signed up for the class again, but I just didn’t want to do it.  I didn’t want to become a dentist.

That night, my wife asked me a very eye-opening question, one I’d never really asked myself: did I really want to go into dentistry?  My wife has always been so supportive of my desires to write and someday become a published author.  This was the moment of truth, the turning point.  Everything clicked in my head.  I realized what I knew all along: the only reason I was doing dentistry was because of the money, not because I actually wanted to do it.  Yeah, writing will probably never earn me as much money as I would have made being a dentist, but who cares?  Writing is something I love.

I changed my major to English with a creative writing emphasis and that’s what I’m doing now while trying to write something worth reading.  I’ll get there one day.  I know I will.

 

